The Problems with the new Nicholas Sparks book

NicolasSparksTheLongestRide-300x300I gotta say when I found out that Nicholas Sparks was coming out with another book I was so excited. I absolutely love the majority of his books and so I had extremely high expectations for this one.

I made sure I had the entire day clear before I even bothered to go pick it up from my bookstore, I knew that as soon as i opened it i would read it straight through only pausing to get a snack or let the dog outside.

To my surprise after 2 chapters I was ready I put the book down. Not only had I predicted what was going to happen I was also extremely bored and confused.

Problem 1: The book switches between three main characters: Sophia, Luke and Ira. The switching of characters by chapter doesn’t really bother me that much but in this book it was just confusing. Sophia and Luke are college aged students who know each other and eventually start dating and then there is a 90 year old man, Ira, who got into a car crash and is hallucinating in his car waiting for help to arrive.

Problem 2: By the end of the first sentence between Luke and Sophia you know that this is the love story in the book, you know that by the end they will be in love and most likely either married or engaged.

Problem 3: You don’t find out until one of the final chapters how Ira even connects to Sophia and Luke and the connection was predictable.

Problem 4: The book seems like 2 ideas that got smashed into one book.

Problem 5: I compare every Sparks book to the Notebook and I just need to accept the fact that nothing will ever come close.

To summarize: The book doesn’t make sense until one of the final chapters, you can figure out the entire book before it even ends and its a complete waste of time and a disappointment. Hopefully the movie will be better.

Leave a comment